Bouncing Light on Water

I have just started playing with reflecting light on water. Here are a few island scenes. I take several shots of each scene and love the variation the waves give. The last ones are just water. (The islands have a story to tell. A print can be purchased in my shop – Here.)

Water Series inlandislands2 inlandislands3 inlandislands4 inlandislands5 aquariumshots3 aquariumshots4 aquariumshots5

________________________________________________________________

I am quite obsessed with light… so when I hear a radio show about it I get excited. Have you heard of Lene Vestergaard Hau? A new hero of mine… She spends her afternoons slowing light down to bicycle speed! Yup… mind blowing. She is full of wonder and surprises herself – as you can hear in her interview on Radio Lab. They have 2 stories on her work. This first one is really something. I put my work down and just sat and listened, then listened again… and again. She explains how she not only plays with the speed of light – but can do the reverse of teleportation. Hope you enjoy it too.

#1 http://www.radiolab.org/story/267126-master-universe/

#2  http://www.radiolab.org/story/267369-behind-the-scenes-master-universe/

Lene Vestergaard Hau – Professor at Harvard. She does the reverse of teleportation – light to matter and back to light! These are her lasers.

NEWS___________________________________________________________

I am now working on the covers for the Anne of Green Gables and Emily of New Moon box sets, written by L. M. Montgomery – to be published by Random House Penguin next year! A dream job. I will be sure to give updates.

I finally finished up Fall Leaves! It will be out in the Fall of 2014 by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children. So excited about this one – perhaps someday I will meet the talented author, Loretta Holland.

making_EllyMacKay18

This week I have been playing with shadows for my new original picture book with Running Press – Shadow Chasers! It is really coming together.

Hope you are having a beautiful autumn – check out that Radio Lab story! Too good to miss -Elly

About ellymackay

I'm Elly MacKay, an artist working with yupo paper and ink to make 3-D paper worlds. I live north of Toronto, Ontario. My twitter and etsy, as well as this blog, is theaterclouds.
This entry was posted in elly's paper art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bouncing Light on Water

  1. rachel awes says:

    LOVE your artwork, elly…your light, heart, sight.
    XOX

  2. Jeremiah says:

    Beautiful. Your work inspires me.

Leave a Reply

