New York – Society of Illustrators Original Art Show – Thank you Running Press!!!

I couldn’t believe it last week when my amazing editor, Marlo Scrimizzi from Running Press offered for us to meet in NYC!

I went through a snowstorm on the way to the airport but when I arrived at my hotel, what a wonderful view – oh, New York! That evening I had a night out with Marlo, the Running Press book designer, Teresa Bonaddio, and my agent Kirsten Hall (who I got to meet for the first time) at the Original Art Show. One of my works from If You Hold A Seed was on display. It was such an honour to be included in the show. I got to meet some awesome illustrators there! With a packed show and ipod camera, I didn’t get too many pics of the art on the walls but here are the winning books. Have you read them? (You can read about the winners and see all the books here.) The show will be on until December 21st.

After the show, Marlo, Teresa, Kirsten and I went around the corner and ate a late dinner at the Fig and Olive. I don’t know how long it has been since I was out past 8 O’Clock (given my two little kids), so Marlo and I  decided to take in the lights at Time Square. In the morning we met for some NYC bagels and made plans for future books! It was so good to talk to Marlo in person and discuss all the details. Kirsten joined us later at the City Bakery and together the three of us wondered through shops and bookstores. (Kirsten’s pics are below.) But… after buying some books for the kids and it was time to go home! 17 hours of travel and 24 hours there - New York was a  whirlwind and so much fun! So many great memories. Thank you so very much Marlo and Running Press!!!

NewYork - book winners1 NewYork - book winners2 NewYork - book winners3 NewYork - book winners4 NewYork01NewYork03 NewYork1NewYork2 NewYork three of us1NewYork05NewYork08NewYork11NewYork12

About ellymackay

I'm Elly MacKay, an artist working with yupo paper and ink to make 3-D paper worlds. I live north of Toronto, Ontario. My twitter and etsy, as well as this blog, is theaterclouds.
This entry was posted in exhibitions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New York – Society of Illustrators Original Art Show – Thank you Running Press!!!

  1. Rick Monteith says:

    If You Hold a Seed is an absolutely beautiful book.. and you’re right about Marlo.

  2. Marlo says:

    Still love that you took a selfie with Jon Klassen. And love seeing all these pics! So fun!!

  3. Holly says:

    What a wonderful experience…thank you for sharing! I’m a big fan of your work, Elly, such talent. And I’m so impressed that you do it all while being mom. Very inspiring.

    • ellymackay says:

      Hi Holly! Thank you! Yes, being a Mom and a maker is a complicated dance at times and sometimes, like all Moms – there are days! But it sure is a wonderful life. I love the textures in your work – beautiful! Are you a Mom too?

Leave a Reply

