In the garden

Thanksgiving in Canada was this past weekend and so here is a personal post – what I am thankful for. These two top my list – my little ones. Here are Lil and Koen playing in our over grown backyard. I am thankful for their laughter and for the way they help me to see the world, fresh and full of adventure. Lily has a ‘joie de vivre’ that is catching. I am thankful for a job that allows me to spend time with them (thank you Etsy!), even if it means working into the ‘elicit hours’ as Beth Orton puts it. I am thankful for a husband that supports me in following my dreams. I am thankful to have met him so young and to have grown with him over the years. I am thankful for the sunshine and for the cold stormy days that let me see how brightly the sun shines on other days. I am thankful for family and for good friends, good food and health.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Several years ago as Willing Workers on Organic Farms we stayed with a family in New Zealand that we admired – the way they interacted with their children – the things they held close. That experience helped shape our hopes for our own family. Recently, I remembered that although this family much like us was not religious, they said grace at their dinner table. I loved this… so we have started doing the same. This is one of our favourites though Lily’s are always far more entertaining. Thank you mother earth and thank you father sun for coming together in the garden as one.

The first image to pop up is from the show we are in at Grey Roots Museum. This is Simon’s sculpture and my photographs. Thank you friends for coming to the show and thank you to the Hayes Family for supplying the barn boards from the old homestead in Big Bay.

Thank you too for reading. Next post I will share some new work.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

