The Forest of Reading 2016!

Butterfly Park is a nominee for the Blue Spruce Award in the Forest of Reading

 

Art Extensions: I have also put together some art activities for kids and teachers to do after reading Butterfly Park- Magnetic Butterflies and Balancing Butterflies. You can find them on my website

balancingbutterfly1

School Visits: I will be doing school visits through the Authors’ Booking Service. I will be in Toronto for the week of December 14th – 18th. Tuesday and Wednesday have been booked. I will also be in the Brampton area in the first week of March for visits to schools. Check for availability. I am happy to visit other areas of Ontario too. Please get in touch if your school would like to book a presentation.

Some New Work

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can find these prints on my ETSY page.

Other News

Spotlight: I was so excited to see this lovely article this week in Quill & Quire by Dory Cerny – which features my book (Feeling so lucky.):

Kidlit spotlight: the golden age of Canadian picture books

You can read it here:http://www.quillandquire.com/omni/kidlit-spotlight-the-golden-age-of-canadian-picture-books/

(On a side note – it also features the book Sidewalk Flowers by a former NSCAD classmate, Sydney Smith. Pick up a copy if you haven’t already. It just won the Governor General’s award. Some of the other contemporary Canadian authors and illustrators in the article include are François Thisdale, Jon Klassen, Cybèle Young (paper artist!), Julie Flett, Ashley Spires, Mélanie Watt, Jeremy Tankard, Cale Atkinson, Kate Beaton, Julie Morstad, and one of my very favourite authors, Sara O’Leary.)

Exquisite Corpse at Kinderlit: I’ve spent so many car trips making these with my kids. Have you ever made one before? The fine folks at Kinderlit host this fun activity. Check it out! 12045389_10153629891115196_7570944379430486743_o

Hope you have a great Hallowe’en! (We are so excited here that my little guy wore this to gymnastics.)

Version 2

Leave a Reply

