Summer update from the balcony.

Maya – South Asia Book Award Winner!

2017sabookaward

Maya (Owlkids, 2016) is the winner for Gr. 5 and under. The other award book, presented for grades 6 and under up, is “What Elephants Know” by Eric Dinerstein (Disney-Hyperion Books, 2016). It is such an honour. Mahak Jain and I will be attending the SABA ceremony this October in Michigan and plan on doing some school visits.

Waltz of the Snowflakes  – Preorder

pinksnow

You can now preorder my next book, Waltz of the Snowflakes!

A Most Magical Girl – Readings Children’s Fiction Book Prize winner 2017

A-most-magical-girl-400x612

Such wonderful news for Karen Foxlee! I’m so happy to be connected to this book. I did the cover art and interior illustrations.

Here is a link for information on the book and award.

 

 

 

 

Proofs for Red Sky At Night!

This spring I have been working on a book that uses old weather folklore to tell the story of a grandpa and his grandchildren taking a camping trip. It will be published by Tundra next spring. I have been working with the same people that I worked on the Anne of Green Gables series with, Tara Walker and Kelly Hill. ❤

makingRSAN

DEYOLrBWAAAATy8.jpg

Mama Mourning Dove and our new pal Griffin

She is sitting on her second round of eggs! The chicks are often in the garden. I love having her here on the balcony from my studio. Even better… we got a puppy! We are all so in love with Griffin.

19243184_10158698225420447_2694085633492218956_o

Wishing everyone a wonderful summer! ~Elly

Leave a comment